Hands using a calculator beside cash and receipts on a wooden table while working out a household budget

Dental Insurance Cost in Ontario: What Plans Pay Back

October 23, 2026

Clinically reviewed by Dr. Abinaash Kaur, DDS, RCDSO, on 2026-10-23. Dr. Kaur is a general dentist in Toronto (Bloor West Village) registered with the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario.

No Canadian insurer prints a monthly price for an individual dental plan. Canada Life says your premium "will depend on the plan you choose" and sends you to a quote tool (Canada Life), and Sun Life's dental page does the same with a "Get a quote" button (Sun Life).

What they do publish is what the plan pays back. On the individual plans I checked, that's 60% to 85% of routine care, capped at $350 to $2,000 a person per year, after a waiting period of 30 days to 3 months on most of them (Canada Life; Green Shield; Sun Life).

So the honest way to answer "how much is dental insurance" is to get your own quote, then hold it against two numbers: what the plan would pay back on your cleanings, and what those cleanings cost without it. A routine checkup and cleaning at our office runs $250 to $350 (our checkup cost guide).

One disclosure before any arithmetic. Our office bills these plans directly, so I see the payouts every day and I have a stake in how patients pay. Read the numbers knowing that.

Why can't you find a monthly price for dental insurance?

Because the carriers don't publish one. Canada Life's page says it in one line: "Your monthly premium will depend on the plan you choose" (Canada Life). Sun Life adds that you'll need to buy a Personal Health Insurance plan to get dental coverage at all, and prices it through a quote (Sun Life).

Your age, your province and the plan you pick set the premium.

The one published monthly dental premium I could find on a Canadian government page is for a plan you can't buy. Retired federal employees pay $22.57 a month for pensioner-only coverage under the Pensioners' Dental Services Plan, a rate effective April 1, 2025 (Government of Canada). The same rules say the cost of the plan is shared equally with the Government of Canada, so the full cost of that coverage is about double, around $45 a month.

I quote it only as a reference point. It's a large group plan paying 90% on preventive and basic care with a $1,500 yearly maximum (Canada Life, PDSP booklet), and an individual plan you buy on your own is priced on different terms. Your quote is the only number that counts for you.

What do individual plans pay back?

Here's what three Canadian carriers publish for their individual plans, listed alphabetically. I'm quoting their terms, not ranking them.

Plan, as the carrier names itRoutine careYearly maximum per personRecall visit
Canada Life Select70%$350 each calendar yearnot stated
Canada Life Select plus80%$750 each calendar yearnot stated
Green Shield ZONE Fundamental70%$450 per yearevery 9 months
Sun Life PHI Basic60%$500every 9 months
Sun Life PHI Standard70%$750every 9 months
Sun Life PHI Enhanced80%$750every 9 months
Sources: Canada Life, Green Shield, Sun Life.

Major work is where the plans split. Green Shield's ZONE Fundamental lists major services and orthodontics as "Not included" (Green Shield). Sun Life's Basic and Standard plans publish preventive coverage only, while its Enhanced plan adds 50% for restorative work up to a $500 annual maximum and 60% for orthodontics up to a $1,500 lifetime maximum (Sun Life). Canada Life sells major dental as separate add-on coverage on its Select plans (Canada Life).

Canada Life also publishes a second family of plans for people leaving a workplace plan (Canada Life). Its Guaranteed plus pays 80% of routine care up to $1,000 a person each calendar year, and Guaranteed elite pays 85% up to $2,000, while the base Guaranteed plan lists no routine dental coverage (Canada Life).

Does "two cleanings a year" match what these plans cover?

Most people think a dental plan pays for two cleanings a year. Here's what the published terms say.

Every plan in the table that states a recall frequency says 9 months. Sun Life's three PHI plans list "Recall visits every 9 months" (Sun Life), Green Shield's ZONE Fundamental lists a recall frequency of 9 months (Green Shield), and the federal pensioners' plan covers a recall exam once every 9 months (Canada Life, PDSP booklet).

Nine months is longer than six. On a 9-month recall, the plan covers one checkup in most 12-month stretches and two in some, not two every year. If you come every six months, the visit in between is yours to pay, plan or no plan.

What gives? The 9-month rule is a cost control written into the plan, so your dentist can't change it. How often you should come is a separate, clinical question, and our guide to the 3, 4, 6 and 9 month cleaning intervals explains how we pick yours.

How does a plan compare with paying for cleanings yourself?

Try this with your own quote in hand.

Start with the visit. A routine checkup and cleaning at our office is $250 to $350, priced from the Ontario Dental Association fee guide (our checkup cost guide), and our guide to what happens at a check-up lists what's in it. Take $300 as the middle of that range.

Now apply the plan. At 60%, the plan pays back $180 on that visit. At 70%, it's $210, and at 80%, $240. None of those reach the yearly maximums in the table, so the cap doesn't bite on a single cleaning.

Then divide by 12. A 70% plan that covers one $300 visit a year returns $210, which is $17.50 a month. If your quoted premium is above that, the plan costs more than it returns on routine care alone, and you're buying it for something else: the ceiling on a bad year, or the major work.

That's the whole calculation, and it's yours to run.

One wrinkle changes the inputs. Plans pay a percentage of a fee-guide amount, not of whatever your dentist charges. The federal pensioners' plan reimburses "based on the provincial or territorial dental fee guides in effect the previous year" and makes you responsible for any amount above that (Canada Life, PDSP booklet). The guide itself is "intended only as a reference for dentists" (Ontario Dental Association). Our 2026 fee guide post lists the figures as publicly reported, including a recall exam at $96 to $182.

How long do you wait before the plan pays?

Longer than most people expect, and it varies by plan.

Sun Life's PHI plans carry a 3-month waiting period before you're eligible for coverage. On its Enhanced plan, restorative coverage starts after 1 year and orthodontic coverage after 2 years (Sun Life). Canada Life says a wait of "anywhere between 30 days and 3 months is fairly standard," uses a 30-day dental wait as its example, and waives it for routine dental if you've had other dental coverage within the last 60 days (Canada Life). Major dental, it adds, usually can't have the wait waived.

Green Shield's ZONE Fundamental is the exception in the table: "No waiting period!" with coverage starting on the first day of the month after approval (Green Shield).

Have no fear if you've just left a job. The 60-day window is the detail to act on. Sun Life's Health Coverage Choice is for people who left a workplace plan in the last 60 days, with no medical questions (Sun Life). Our guide to losing dental benefits at the end of the year covers what happens to your maximum when you switch plans.

Does "insurance covers it" hold up for a crown?

Not the way people hope. The sentence I hear at the desk is "my insurance covers crowns." The booklet's version is half the eligible cost, up to the annual maximum, and those are different promises.

Take the federal pensioners' plan's own worked example. A $1,500 crown including lab fees becomes $1,300 of eligible expense, the plan pays $650 at 50%, and the member pays $850 (Canada Life, PDSP booklet). That's on a plan with a $1,500 yearly maximum, which is high next to the individual plans above.

On Sun Life's Enhanced plan, restorative work is covered at 50% up to a $500 annual maximum (Sun Life). A crown at the 2026 fee guide figure of $1,349 to $1,449 plus the lab bill (our fee guide post) would be reimbursed at half, then stopped at $500. The rest is yours. Our crown cost guide has the full picture.

The yearly maximum is the number to read first on any plan. Everything else in the booklet sits under it.

When does a plan tend to pay off, and when doesn't it?

Here's the pattern I see, as information. The decision is yours.

A plan tends to return more than you pay in when there's predictable major work ahead, when more than one person is on it, or when you've just left a plan and can have the waiting period waived. The yearly maximum is the ceiling in every case, so a plan with a $350 or $450 cap doesn't change the arithmetic on a crown much.

A plan tends to return less than you pay in when you're a healthy adult who comes once a year and needs the odd filling. On the fee guide, a one-surface white filling is $214 to $257 (our fee guide post), and a 70% plan returns about $150 to $180 of that.

Plenty of people are deciding this without a plan at all. Statistics Canada found that 35% of Canadians had no dental insurance in 2022, 55% had private coverage, and 4% had only public coverage (Statistics Canada). Among the uninsured, 40% avoided dental care because of cost, nearly three times the 14% among those with private insurance (Statistics Canada).

Canada Life describes "3 main ways" to get dental coverage: a government plan like the CDCP, a workplace plan, or a plan you buy yourself (Canada Life). An individual plan is the third of those, and the arithmetic above is how you test it.

Some days the schedule pushes me, and the coverage conversation still happens before any instrument comes out. In about 25 years in Bloor West Village I've learned that the number on the estimate is what decides whether someone comes back.

Will buying a plan affect your CDCP?

Yes, if you qualify for the federal plan today. The Canadian Dental Care Plan's first rule is "No access to private dental insurance or coverage," and its excluded list includes "insurance or coverage purchased by yourself or a family member for dental costs" (Government of Canada). Buying a personal plan puts you on that list.

The federal page also says you must confirm every year that you have no access to private dental insurance or coverage. If the proof you send shows you do have access, you'll be removed from the plan and may have to reimburse the Government of Canada for services it paid while you were ineligible (Government of Canada).

Did you know about this? The federal page's list is about coverage you hold or can use through work, a pension or a family member. Being able to buy a plan isn't on it; buying one is. The same page says you're not eligible if you have any kind of dental coverage "even if" you have never used it, decided not to enrol in it, or have to pay a premium for it (Government of Canada). Our CDCP eligibility guide walks through all four rules, and our guide to what OHIP does and doesn't cover puts the CDCP, private plans and OHIP side by side.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How much does dental insurance cost per month in Ontario? Canadian carriers don't publish a monthly price for individual plans. Canada Life says your premium "will depend on the plan you choose" (Canada Life), and Sun Life prices its plans through a quote (Sun Life). The only published monthly dental premium on a Canadian government page is the federal pensioners' plan at $22.57 a month for one person, a cost-shared group rate you can't buy (Government of Canada).

Q: What does an individual dental plan pay for cleanings? On the plans checked for this post, 60% to 85% of routine care up to a yearly maximum of $350 to $2,000 a person, with the plans that state a recall frequency allowing a recall visit every 9 months (Sun Life; Canada Life; Green Shield). A routine checkup and cleaning at our office is $250 to $350 (our checkup cost guide).

Q: Is it cheaper to pay out of pocket for dental care than to buy insurance? It depends on your quote and your mouth, so run the arithmetic. A 70% plan that covers one $300 cleaning a year returns $210, or $17.50 a month; a premium above that is buying the yearly ceiling and the major-work coverage, not the cleanings (our checkup cost guide). Major work is capped, as in the federal pensioners' plan example where a $1,500 crown leaves the member paying $850 (Canada Life, PDSP booklet).

Q: Is there a waiting period for private dental insurance in Ontario? Usually. Sun Life's PHI plans have a 3-month waiting period, with 1 year for restorative and 2 years for orthodontic coverage on its Enhanced plan (Sun Life). Canada Life calls 30 days to 3 months "fairly standard" and waives its routine dental wait if you had coverage within the last 60 days (Canada Life). Green Shield's ZONE Fundamental has no waiting period (Green Shield).

Q: If I buy private dental insurance, do I lose the Canadian Dental Care Plan? Yes. The CDCP excludes anyone with "insurance or coverage purchased by yourself or a family member for dental costs," requires you to confirm every year that you have no access to private coverage, and can remove you and seek reimbursement if you do (Government of Canada).


Reviewed by Dr. Abinaash Kaur, B.Sc., DDS (University of Toronto Faculty of Dentistry), who has practised general and family dentistry in Bloor West Village for about 25 years. This article is general information about how individual dental plans in Canada are structured, not financial advice and not a recommendation of any insurer or plan. Our office bills private dental plans directly. Plan terms change, so confirm them with the carrier before you buy.

Weighing a plan, or holding a quote you'd like a second pair of eyes on? Bring it in, or send us the pages, and we'll read the maximums, the recall rule and the waiting periods with you against what your teeth need. We're at 750 Annette Street in Bloor West Village, serving the Junction, High Park, and Baby Point. Book a visit with The Village Dentist and we'll go through it before any treatment.

blog author avatar

Dr. Abinaash Kaur

Dr. Abinaash Kaur is the founder and lead dentist at The Village Dentist in Toronto's Bloor West Village. She holds a Doctor of Dental Surgery (DDS) degree and is a registered member of the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario (RCDSO) and the Ontario Dental Association (ODA). With a gentle, patient-centred approach, Dr. Kaur provides comprehensive dental care for families across Bloor West Village and the greater Toronto area. She writes about oral health, preventive care, and the latest in dentistry to help patients feel confident and informed.

Back to Blog